My website has been redone…

28/07/2009

So I’ve spent the past couple of weeks thinking about how to improve my online output and have finally found the time to sort out my website. Before my website was hosted elsewhere, whilst my blog was hosted here on wordpress, and alongside that I was also uploading photos to flickr, and so all in all it things started to get very convoluted both for myself and i’m sure for those trying to view my photographs.

So after lots of tweaking and total confusion over transferring domains and such, I have finally managed to attach what will be my website to the back end of this blog. Let me explain:

~

On the main page here is the blog, where I’ll post news, snaps, updates and various photographs that I’ve taken but don’t really belong in a portfolio as of yet.

Above in the menu one will be able to find my portfolio i.e. a highly edited selection of the photographs that I want to represent me, alongside information about me and some tear-sheets of commissions that i’ve done. These are all work in progress currently.

Alongside this I am continue the process I’ve started of late of basically uploading my entire output to flickr, both in public and private forms, which serves for me purely as both a constant photo diary and also backup and storage.

Whilst my photos could be viewed on flickr, I’m now going to present most of my work in photo essay form here on the blog and in portfolios that I can add above in the future.

~

In summary having both my blog and website contained here with the address of jamiestoker.com should allow me to consistently update my work here at one location.

And here are some recent snaps, taken around London and Brighton as I’ve come back home for the summer break:

Thanks for bearing with me and I’d love to hear how y’all cope with managing your websites/blogs or if you don’t have one, what your approach to getting your photos on the web is!

J.

4 Responses to “My website has been redone…”

  1. Suzan said

    Ha did you shoot this with the XA? I just love the little flash attached to it. Nice mood in this entry, especially love (the composition of) : http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2639/3765786858_dd4d2cf23b_o.jpg

    • Hey Susan – hope you are well! These were all shot on a Sigma DP1, great little digicam if you can get used to using it and do a little post production magic 😉

  2. Gerri Yock said

    It appears that you’ve put a good amount of effort into your article and I want a lot more of these on the web these days. I truly got a kick out of your post. I do not have a bunch to to say in response, I only wanted to register to say special work.

Leave a Reply

